Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Reference and guide to SFIA version 6. Framework status: Legacy.


This section contains details of all SFIA skills, organised into categories and subcategories.

Categories and subcategories

The skills in SFIA are grouped into categories and subcategories for the convenience of users.

It is not proposed that these equate to jobs or areas of personal responsibility. The grouping is intended to assist people who are incorporating SFIA skills in role profiles or job descriptions, or who are building an organisation's IT competency framework.


The skill definitions are presented within their categories and subcategories.

Each skill definition consists of the following:

Skill code

An abbreviated reference code. Example: AVMT

Skill name

The name used for normal reference purposes. Example: Availability management

Overall description

A broad definition of this skill, without any reference to the levels at which it might be practised.


The definition, analysis, planning, measurement and improvement of all aspects of the availability of IT services. The overall control and management of service availability to ensure that the level of service delivered in all services is matched to or exceeds the current and future agreed needs of the business, in a cost effective manner.

Level descriptions

Definitions of the skill for each of the levels at which it is practised. However their phrasing facilitates their use as professional competencies.


Level 6 Sets strategy and develops plans, policies and processes for the design, monitoring, measurement, reporting and continuous improvement of service and component availability, including the development and implementation of new availability techniques and methods.